About Cowles
Research Staff
Visiting Faculty
Administrative Staff
Postdoctoral Program
Anderson Fellowships
Cowles Lunches
Cowles Lectures ES NASM
From the Archives

The Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics at Yale University has as its purpose the conduct and encouragement of research in economics and related fields. The Foundation seeks to foster the development and application of rigorous logical, mathematical, and statistical methods of analysis.

Among its activities, the Cowles Foundation provides financial support for research, visiting faculty, postdoctoral fellowships, workshops, and graduate students. Cowles regularly sponsors conferences and publishes a working paper series,  a reprint series, and research monographs.

Research Program Areas                 Publications

Upcoming Events

November 3–4, 2015

Pierre-André Chiappori, "Matching with Transfers," Tjalling C. Koopmans Memorial Lectures


Department of Economics  »  Events and Seminars

U.S. Census Bureau has approved a Branch Research Data Center at Yale University

The U.S. Census Bureau has approved the establishment of a Branch Research Data Center (Branch RDC) at Yale University. This branch, generously funded by the Cowles Foundation, will offer researchers with approved projects access to a wide range of restricted-use data collected by the Census Bureau, the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) and the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

Further information about these datasets as well as the process by which access to them is granted can be found at the website of the Census Bureau’s Center for Economic Studies, at https://www.census.gov/ces/. Current Yale graduate students and faculty with approved projects are:
     Mihsuru Igami (Economics)
     Dan Keniston (Economics)
     Amanda Kowalski (Economics)
     Sebastian Heise (Economics)
     James Levinsohn (School of Management and the Jackson Institute)
     Peter K. Schott (School of Management)
     Joseph Shapiro (Economics)
     Xiao Xu (School of Medicine)

2013 Nobel Prize Winner: Robert Shiller

Professor Robert Shiller of the Cowles Foundation, along with Eugene Fama and Lars Hansen of the University of Chicago, have won the 2013 Nobel Prize for their work on the empirical analysis of asset prices.
Read more: Yale News, Press Release from nobelprize.org, and Nobel Laureates with connections to Cowles

    Copyright © 2011 Yale University. All rights reserved.
    Cowles Foundation for Research in Economics — Contact Information.